About the Network


UBIAS stands for “University-Based Institutes for Advanced Study”. The UBIAS network was initiated in 2010, when representatives from 32 research institutes worldwide met at the conference entitled "University-Based Institutes for Advanced Study in a Global Perspective: Promises, Challenges, New Frontiers," hosted by the Freiburg Institute of Advanced Studies, Germany. The founding of the first UBIAS dates back more than 40 years. However, the last decade has seen an upsurge in the establishment of such institutes across the globe – a trend that continues. Unlike traditional Institutes for Advanced Study, UBIAS institutes are associated with or embedded within a university, and actively contribute to the academic culture and the scientific achievements of their home university.

Connecting researchers across the globe
By offering various fellowship programmes on different academic levels (junior and senior researchers), UBIAS institutes bring together outstanding researchers from different disciplines, nationalities and academic backgrounds, creating a productive environment for innovative research. These common characteristics have proved to be a fruitful basis for mutual exchange, although the individual institutes display a large variety of different concepts and academic pursuits. With their individual profiles, they answer to the specific needs and strengths of their affiliate university. While many institutes have traditionally concentrated on humanities and social sciences, an increasing number of institutes now incorporate theoretical and experimental sciences.

46 UBIAS network members: Diversity
The network, that currently comprises 46 member institutes, was established to enable structured forms of exchange in this growing segment, including biennial conferences and joint programmes between partner institutes.

UBIAS is committed to equality, inclusivity and diversity. In the delivery of our mission, we seek to promote ethnic diversity, gender equality, intercultural awareness and respect for difference. We adhere to the ongoing implementation of these policies in our day-to-day activities (for example in committee membership, conference programming, and the selection of members etc.).

Read the 'Statutes' - the rules and regulations of the UBIAS network.

UBIAS Coordinators

In 2021, a new coordinating triumvirate was elected for a 2-year period: the Network French Network of Institutes for Advanced Study (RFIEA) acts as the coordinator, along with the Institute for Advanced Research (IAR) in Nagoya (Japan) and the Merian Institute for Advanced Study in Africa (MIASA) in Accra (Ghana).

Previous coordinating Institutes:

  • 2018-2021: Institute of Advanced Studies (IEA), University of São Paulo, Brazil
  • 2016-2018: Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies (AIAS), Aarhus University, Denmark
  • 2010-2016: Freiburg Institute of Advanced Studies (FRIAS), University of Freiburg, Germany
Search for network participants